Welcome to the #1 Online Finance & Investment Banking Community for
the UK and EMEA!

By registering, you'll be able to contribute to discussions, send private messages to other members of the community and much more.

I am a Management Consultant - Ask Me Anything

Dec
Management Consulting
Hi everyone,

This forum has helped me quite a lot, so it is time to give something back. I have worked for five in MBB consulting in financial services, based in the Wharf. Ask me anything you always wanted to know about consulting.

Thanks for doing this. How does a typical day in the life look like for you and what exactly does a management consultant do? Can you expand on the role of a consultant and why are they important, and what are the different types out there (I know management consultant would be one..)?

What is the career progression like (junior to senior etc) and what kind of projects do you work on? Some detailed real-world examples would be great (situation task action result) if that is not asking for too much, without mentioning any names of course.

What is the most challenging part of this job in your experience? What kind of soft/hard skills does one need to succeed in this occupation?

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for doing this. How does a typical day in the life look like for you and what exactly does a management consultant do? Can you expand on the role of a consultant and why are they important, and what are the different types out there (I know management consultant would be one..)?

What is the career progression like (junior to senior etc) and what kind of projects do you work on? Some detailed real-world examples would be great (situation task action result) if that is not asking for too much, without mentioning any names of course.

What is the most challenging part of this job in your experience? What kind of soft/hard skills does one need to succeed in this occupation?