Welcome to the #1 Online Finance & Investment Banking Community for
the UK and EMEA!

By registering, you'll be able to contribute to discussions, send private messages to other members of the community and much more.

I'm a Former Equity Derivatives Trader on the Sell-side. Ask me anything

derivstrading1

Aug
Investment Banking
As the title says, worked for several years as an equity derivatives trader and now work on the buyside in a more credit derivatives oriented role. Happy to answer questions about anything to do with regards to getting into the industry, trading technicals etc.

How does one become successful in your field?
Do you think you can know if you will be a good trader? If so, how?
And lastly, how did you land the buy-side job?
Thanks.

What is the most common myth about a career in trading?
Which web sites do you visit regularly?
What were the top three credentials in a candidate that you looked for when you interviewed them?

Thanks for doing this.

- What made you change to the buy-side after several years?
- Was it more difficult to make the switch given you were in a BB for >2 years?
- Any general tips for us trying to break in (both to banking and to the buy-side)?

Thanks

Starting applications for spring weeks, no financial experience whatsoever, will be studying economics at Cambridge university. How should i improve my cv and cover letters to cover the fact I have no relevant work experience?

Starting applications for spring weeks, no financial experience whatsoever, will be studying economics at Cambridge university. How should i improve my cv and cover letters to cover the fact I have no relevant work experience?

Your university will host insight programmes from banks (boosts your CL), and there will likely be events, such as trading games and M&A simulations, hosted by banks to give practical insights. If you rack up a few of those you'll be fine.

Experience isn't a necessity at this stage, but a demonstrable interest is.