Welcome to the #1 Online Finance & Investment Banking Community for
the UK and EMEA!

By registering, you'll be able to contribute to discussions, send private messages to other members of the community and much more.

I'm a Hedge Fund Analyst. Ask Me Anything

HFAnalyst1

Dec
Hey,

I've been asked to do an AMA on here, so fire away with any questions you may have (but don't bother asking salary).

I'm also willing to give feedback on any CVs so send them my way if you want, though I probably won't get back to you before the weekend.

Background:
- 2.1 Humanities Degree at a semi-target
- Completed 3 internships before landing a full-time position at a boutique M&A
- A couple years later I was recruited to a mid-size Hedge Fund ($300-500m AUM) as an analyst, which is where I've been for the past 2 years.

Thanks a lot for doing this.

What advice would you give to students who look to work in your profession?
Why did you choose a career in finance?

How do you deal with stress? How do you manage your personal finances and how did money change your uni student self? What strategy does your fund use? Thanks.

Thanks a lot for doing this.

What advice would you give to students who look to work in your profession?
Why did you choose a career in finance?

Perseverance is key but so is luck. It's not the most heartening thing for me to say, I know, but honestly so much of getting your foot in the door is just dumb luck, so long as you don't completely mess up your application. There are so many applications from so many people with similar backgrounds/experiences that there is very little to differentiate between everyone- so you have to get the basics right, no silly mistakes, and absolutely get as many Spring Week offers as you can, these are now the best entry/fast track to a summer internship.