Welcome to the #1 Online Finance & Investment Banking Community for
the UK and EMEA!

By registering, you'll be able to contribute to discussions, send private messages to other members of the community and much more.

Interview Series: EM MD Trader | Part I

Canary Wharfian1

Administrator
Jul
Staff member
In the next few weeks we are going to post a lot of interesting content on working in the Wharf, starting off with a Managing Director who has been working as a trader for a bulge bracket investment bank for more than 10 years.

You have an undergraduate degree and two masters from the same university. You must have really liked it there!

I did it all in 5 and a half years; I didn't spend too long there. Even though I did like it and had an enjoyable time, I just wanted to get in and out of school as soon as possible.

What was it like going from engineering into the finance world?

I started in Engineering and Physics, kind of very theoretical. Then, I did a masters in Electrical Engineering, that was a little bit more practical and kept me interested in doing something in the science and engineering space. But, I eventually decided to get an MBA, making a career choice that, rather than spend any time in engineering or science related, go straight into finance. So, although I studied engineering, all my work experience is actually in finance.

Engineering definitely teaches you a certain way of thinking about problems that is useful, and so does getting an MBA.

Where have you lived other than London?

I have lived in Tokyo, Hong Kong, the US, and Paris.

Can you speak all those different languages?

Speaking Mandarin or Cantonese is a challenge for anyone, so no. Japanese I understand a fair bit, I wouldn‘t say 100%, probably more like 50%. I can speak a few things very well which can get you into trouble, with people thinking you are very good at Japanese. On the French side, my understanding is pretty good and speaking is not bad.