Welcome to the #1 Online Finance & Investment Banking Community for
the UK and EMEA!

By registering, you'll be able to contribute to discussions, send private messages to other members of the community and much more.

Interview Series: EM MD Trader | Part II

Canary Wharfian1

Administrator
Jul
Staff member
We had a conversation with an emerging markets trading Managing Director.

Read our first interview here.

Can you talk a little about your educational background?

I got a degree in the late 90’s in Economics. Afterwards, I got a JD and did some work in law.

How did your career move from law into finance?

Well, I worked for a few years in finance law, doing M&A and financing; also a bit of restructuring. But, I always kind of liked finance a little bit better than law I guess. I think it was a personality thing for me. In law, people tend to be more introverted and individual, which is perfectly okay. For me, though, I enjoy being on the trading or banking floor, where you can go up and talk with people. In general, I think banking has an environment which attracts extroverted people.

You worked for a US bank for awhile and now a Swiss bank.

Yeah, and now I’m still doing similar work in fixed income trading and lending in London. I do a bit of work in Europe, but I mostly focus on emerging markets.

What are some of the cultural differences between working at a US bank and a Swiss one?

I don’t know if you can generalize about all US banks, but more decisions were driven from the US as opposed to locally at the Swiss bank. At the Swiss bank, there is a lot more local decision-making. At the US bank, it was more hierarchical, like in the army, while at the Swiss bank everything is more run by consensuses or committee.