Welcome to the #1 Online Finance & Investment Banking Community for
the UK and EMEA!

By registering, you'll be able to contribute to discussions, send private messages to other members of the community and much more.

M&A - Complete Beginner

Alex1

Aug
Hi,

So I'm new to this site, and totally fresh on the concept on investment banking. Having just finished Sixth Form and starting University soon I thought I'd look into careers, and M&A in investment banking looked up my street (from my limited understanding).

I literally started learning yesterday. So I've gone into reading the three main valuation methodoligies in M&A: Comparable Company Analysis, Precedent Transaction Analysis and Discounted Cash Flow (DCF).

I was reading into Precedent Transaction Analysis and didn't understand what it meant in one of its steps. It said: "Once you have your universe of precedent transactions in your industry, the next step is finding the necessary financials that will be used to spread your multiples".

I understand what the "Universe of precedent transactions" means (I think it's to do with the selection of historical transactions related to the company you're valuing, right?). But what does the part: "the next step is finding the necessary financials that will be used to spread your multiples". - I've defined the terms and financials supposedly means financial information on an organisation, and multiples are a method of comparing two metrics within a company (this doesn't really fit the context of the statement, does it?).

Anyway,
Hopefully someone can help me :)